In the zone and, crap, there goes the neck!

18 01 2010

When I set the goal of 60,000 words I knew I was pushing it. I can make 50,000 fairly easily, provided things go well, in two weeks of a retreat. If I only get one migraine, have one day out and I stay focussed. So I upped the ante for the sake of upping the ante. I thought I would come close. Anything over 50,000 words was going to be good. I even thought two days of 10,000 words and then falling into an exhausted heap would do it, make me reach it.

Today I was cooking. I was in the zone with 5,000 words by lunchtime and no fatigue, no strain. I’d break after 1,000 words, walk around let the ideas flow. The zen zone was all around me. The place I want to be and the place that is hard to get to where I am in the story. Then I went outside for a walk and I don’t know something happened. I came back inside, ideas brimming, ready to jump back on the machine and then I felt it. Pain in my upper left shoulder and the stiffening neck. I broke. Dreams of 10,000 words slid by as I climbed into bed and begged Matthew for a massage. Then I had to lay there still until it settled down. No  reading, no knitting and no writing. The hours ticked by. Matthew gave me another massage as well as a hot towel which relieved the pain. But the disappointment of getting to the zone and having to pull back, let the ideas all slide back into the murk is so disappointing.

I blame the table I am working on. It is too high even with the ergonomic chair. Maybe tomorrow I’ll try again but this time I’ll use the adjustable table. I hope that the neck repairs itself tonight. Though I’m not that hopeful. I may have to rest my laurels on 45,500 words for this retreat.

There were highlights to the day. Hot bread for lunch. Chocolate muffins courtesy of Cat. A bowl of lollies thank you Nicole. Lovely Matthew taking care of me, hanging with me. The great treat tonight though is fresh fish, crumbed and fried, salad and wedges. Thanks Russell and Kylie.

-Donna


Actions

Information

Leave a comment